Why I’ll never be a new Pavarotti – revealed by FFT’s & Python

Image

For the fun of it, I decided to try my Python Fast Fourier Transformation program on my own singing. That should be the ultimate test on the performance of my program – when I was in school all those years ago, my music teacher actually asked me *not* to participate in class, claiming that his ears were not designed for my singing… 🙂

Anyway, the above graph shows a spectrum analysis (the red line) of my singing. As the graph reveals, my ‘singing’ is dominated by three frequecy areas, the two rightmost peaks being at some 360 and 780 Hz, but then there is that huge broad spectrum in the low frequencies, below the 20Hz limit of human hearing…!?

Let’s compare my performance as an opera singer to that of Tomasz Konieczny, singing Wagner’s ‘Das Reingold’ at Stadsoper Wien:

Image

Ooops!! There’s some difference! Tomaz’ voice spans much more evenly over a much broader frequency spectrum, and there is none of that low frequency noise that my voice is full of.

In addition, the blue amplitude plot reveals that while Tomaz is very capable of varying the amplitude, I’m a lousy singer in that aspect too…

Furthermore, while my ‘real’ tones span a very limited frequency span, some 300-1000 Hz, Tomaz singing spans from some 20Hz to 11000 Hz.

I’ll be better off not quitting my day job…! 🙂

About swdevperestroika

High tech industry veteran, avid hacker reluctantly transformed to mgmt consultant.
This entry was posted in development, Math, software and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

