More fun with Gephi (and less fun with Python) Latitude/Longitude + population in capital cities

Image

SInce I’ve been playing with Gephi for a while, I decided to see if I could use Gephi’s GeoLayout algorithm for anything meaningful.

On the net, I found webpages displaying the position (in latitude/longitude) for a set of capital cities around the world. The website’s I found displayed the position in traditional format, i.e. degrees/minutes/seconds. Unfortunately, Gephi’s ‘GeoLayout’ expects positions being given in decimal degrees, in floats.

The first task thus was to convert positions in the form of 59° 18′ 30” N to a decimal representation. That’s for the latitude, for the longitude it’s pretty much the same, except the North/South indicator changes to East/West.

In decimal position representation, southerly latitudes are negative, as well as westerly longitudes are negative. Thus, I needed not only to transform the lat & long strings to numeric decimal representation, I had furthermore to make them signed, depending on whether the position was north or south, or east or west.

So, the first task was to parse strings: while I wouldn’t have had any problems doing that in C or C++, or even Ada – after all, I’ve spent a fair amount of years programming in those languages –  I decided that this problem might be a good  excercise to learn the basics of  a “new”, popular language, Python. That seems to be the language of choice today, for many applications….

So I decided to spend a few hours with Python, eventually getting absolutely flabbergasted and increasingly frustrated by the language: a language wildly mixing any and all programming paradigms – procedural/functional/declarational/object oriented etc etc – and also exhibiting a huge number of external “modules” that can be loaded…. How the f*ck to know what modules there are, or what they can do…?!

And the perhaps most frustrating thing of all: Python is sensitive to indentation…! That is, in order to define a block, e.g. a loop or an if-statement, you have to indent the code…!

Ok, thanks to emacs’ Python mode, the indentation problem wasn’t too bad, but still, I felt being back at Fortran – column positions matter… wasn’t that a cause for some rocket failure in the 50ies….?

Anyways, with some browsing of the Python tutorials on the net, I figured out how to transform the Lat/long positions to decimal form.

Next problem was to “map” the ‘city’/position data  I managed to extract from the first website to the ‘city’/population data I found on a different website.

Basically, the problem at hand was to make a map from the city/position data structure I had as a data structure in my Python program, to the city/population data structure I had parsed from an other file.

Turns out Python’s “dictionary” built-in data type did the job wonderfully: by using the dictionary data type, it was piece of cake to make the mapping, and thereby provide Gephi with a file with a few hundred entries in the form:

City Latitude Longitude Population

Even though Python feels a bit overwhelming for a beginner, I can see its power: despite the fact that I have less than 3 hours of Python programming experience, I managed to hack a program that would have taken me at least the same amout of time to do with the languages I know – despite the confusing mix of programming paradigms, Python seems to be very powerful.

The image above shows the result of the exercise: the “warmer” and larger the text, the higher the population of the city. And the cities are layed out according to their position, thanks to Gephi’s GeoLayout.

About swdevperestroika

High tech industry veteran, avid hacker reluctantly transformed to mgmt consultant.
This entry was posted in development and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to More fun with Gephi (and less fun with Python) Latitude/Longitude + population in capital cities

  1. tevirselrahc says:

    So…why Python? (just curious…)

    • mostly because I was curious on why Python seems to be so popular. Can now sort of understand that: easy to learn the basics, and lots of modules available. Perfect for hacks, but not sure I’d use it for serious stuff…

Leave a Reply

