More experiments with social network analysis

Image

The above image illustrates my LinkedIn-network, where I’ve mapped employees or members to their organizations (companies, corporations, NGO’s, clubs etc), that is, each edge illustrates a “belongs-to” or “works-for” relationship.

Fairly easy to see that there are two totally dominant organisations in play within my LinkedIn-network….

I start to get a bit concerned about the now, with these visualizations,  very obvious fact,  that both my professional life, as illustrated by this LinkedIn-data, as well as my personal life, illustrated by this graph from Facebook data, are both so “binary” – in each case, two totally dominant cluster’s representing the vast majority of my contacts….  Perhaps I should start doing something else…? 🙂

Again, I’ve used Gephi for the visualization (and a motherload of Emacs keyboard macros, and sed/awk commands to “normalize”  and correlate the data from LinkedIn before importing it to Gephi..!  🙂

About swdevperestroika

High tech industry veteran, avid hacker reluctantly transformed to mgmt consultant.
This entry was posted in development. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

